West Virginia Boat Accident Attorney
Boating is a leisurely activity that brings joy to countless people all over the state of West Virginia. However, on rare occasions, accidents can happen. These accidents can result in anything from minor injury to unfortunate drowning. Any accident involving more than first aid, or minor property damage requires a boating accident report to be filed.
This report can only be filed within a short window of time. If there are no injuries other than property damage, you have ten days to file. That said, you only have 48 hours if there was serious bodily injury, and a mere 24 hours if a person was tragically killed during the incident. In the event of any boating accident, it is prudent never to speak to an insurance provider prior to consulting a boat accident attorney. Doing so could potentially jeopardize any settlement offers.
The rivers in West Virginia are often filled with everything from commercial barges to jet skis. With such a high level of traffic in the summer months, so comes the potential for personal injury, even death. Drowning is particularly frequent in boating accident claims. It is essential that any injured party contact a licensed West Virginia personal injury attorney to navigate the unique maritime laws often affiliated in determining negligence.
WV Boating Accident Lawyer
If someone else is to blame for the boat accident, damages can be rewarded to cover such things as medical expenses and lost wages. However, this negligence must be proved. A Parkersburg personal injury attorney specializing in boating accidents can help you uncover and investigate the contributing factors and present a case for liability accordingly.
Boating accidents can be terrifying enough without having to worry about what to do next. If you or a loved one were injured in a boating accident due to another party’s negligent or reckless conduct, contact a licensed West Virginia personal injury lawyer specializing in boating accidents to discuss any legal options you may have.